Coin for Beggar

Coin for Beggar

You stretch shrunken arm
Open, fingerless hand
Sunken eyes look piercingly
Into my own.
I look, I see, I fail
To take it in.
Beyond the hand, the eye
Something hidden lies
I will not ask
I fear to know.
If the eyes can speak this much
What would tongue betray?
Could give a coin today;
Tomorrow what’s your fate?
I feel helpless and,
Almost ashamed to drop
A single lonely coin
For a hungry lonely soul.
“God bless you”, a whisper,
To my dismay.
Blessing for one coin!
I may have made his day
One little coin
Difference!

© Alexandra Kukunda 1995 (unpublished)

Leave a Reply

