Love Letter

Love letter

Dear letter,
I miss you
you kept me company
sleeping under my pillow
sharing my dreams as I slept
dreams you kindled
carrying me afloat
in worlds beyond your words
in the deepest corner
of my purse you hid
my tender hands miss your crisp feel
the print of ink and handwriting
always betrayed the emotion in
the curve of each letter
speaking to my heart word by word
clutching the envelope
reading my name
my heartbeat as I opened
and buried myself into you
then carefully stashed away
but hurriedly retrieved
to reread revise reread
till I crammed every word
but still would hold you close.

© Alexandra Kukunda 2015

One thought on “Love Letter

Leave a Reply

