still celebrate your birthday, gone too soon

You opened a whole new world to me,
24 years today, the first baby in my arms;
You taught me, through experience, to be a mother;
Fourteen good years we shared;
Your bubbling cheeks and laughter
Your gaiety and jokes
Your constant affirmation to me:
“But You are Maama!” made me feel invincible,
Shamelessly close to immortal;
As you grew, so did I…we matured together;
By example you led your siblings;
We all miss you but we do not forget,
Even this year, that
Today you would be Twenty Four my love.
I take all the Birthday wishes for you Teddy.

Leave a Reply

