Here still I stand

Here still I stand
I have stood
in this same place
on this same spot
in this same posture
counting memories
by my fingers and toes and
counting the stars only when they show
lost track of time
have woven my hair into strands
weaving into each a treasure or pain
awake even in my sleep
birds have nested and hatched
here I stand naked
daring and bearing the elements
waiting for an answer
longing for warmth
memories linger and haunt
as motionless I stand
entangled by a maze
the unsolved puzzle
glued to this same spot
grass grows between my toes
no canopy above my head
where you left me and
here still I stand

©Alexandra Kukunda 2015

Leave a Reply

