leaning against these pillars

 

my soul refuses to die

encased in my battered

bruised and blinded body

I choose, like Samson

if I should die then

with the Philistines let it be

 

in my silence building strength

briddled tongue

breeding and nursing a riddled

seething heart

 

because you took

from me you grabbed

enslaved my body

mauled and devoured

 

you choke, ‘poor thing’

but as you wave your arms

“Our Man” we chant

the praises that oil your heart

 

only I am able to see

despair command your soul

as your frantic panting now

evokes the pain of the

countless times you

forced yourself upon me

 

you gagged my mouth

telling me empty words that

you were not the first

 

alas the pregnancies you denied

brought forth your replicas

bearing your birthmarks mannerisms and all

and I named them all

with your clan names

 

poverty, hunger and disease

iliteracy, unemployment

corruption and greed

and their numerous siblings

 

I baptised them myself

with the waters of my tears

and I helplessly watched

my life ebb away as you

nurtured your little monsters

leaving me for dead

 

now you grope in darkness

let your children hold your hand

rename them if you will

 

you sold your soul

you lost yourself

 

my battered soul

untethered and resolved

summons her last strength

and declares it’s time

to purge and cleanse myself

of this abomination and curse

 

with my hands against

these pillars I stand

stronger than ever before

and what my blinded eyes see

you cannot fathom

 

awakening has come

 

(c) Alexandra Kukunda 2015.

3 thoughts on “leaning against these pillars

Leave a Reply

