pitying self

(This undated piece is one of those I wrote at the height of the violation of my right to be human, to be a woman)

PITYING SELF
When I feel alone
commune with my own soul
or even fail
to trace and find myself
when feelings take over
and reason, though in sight
seems so far out of reach
and my only focal point
my dear pitied self
the journey downward begins
I sink into a depth
I cannot see or fathom
but surely can feel
if I don’t stop myself
then……

(c) Alexandra Kukunda

4 thoughts on “pitying self

Leave a Reply

