DADDY’S LONG LEGS

legs daddyDaddy had long legs. He took long strides and I always had to run along trying to catch up with him. “Rahuka!” He would admonish, making me feel guilty for failing to keep up with his pace. Then he would stop a while, allow me to catch my breath, and resume walking, setting his wild pace. Occasionally, he would hold my hand.
Then I grew up, and started to catch up with him. I wasn’t being left behind anymore. Side by side now we walked, and I felt proud of myself. It was some achievement, finally keeping up with his pace. And it was rewarded with great discussions.
I realised that many little steps had to add up to make daddy’s giant step. And it took time. I had to grow. Daddy’s pace had always been just moderate, never wild.

Leave a Reply

