ENCHANTED BY THE NILE


You hold me captive 
your lazy outflow from Nalubaale 
soothing my overwrought city nerves


I tarry a while and drink in

stunned into awe and silence 


gentle breeze caressing my skin musty, fetid and fishy-tainted air making interesting interface with freshness floral scent from the wild fills the air
teasing my nose


the untainted lush green hems in your waters

your waves shimmering at the kiss of the sun  
an egret cruises by on a clog of hyacinth 
birds of prey glide and hover above 
snakebirds darting in the water making me feel like taking a dip under the scorching sun

motorized boats buzz past fishermen rowing their silent canoes 
the concerto of the birds 
fills the air with sweetness
as the wind whistles in the trees and a proud foal goes ‘hee-haw’ 
trotting with pride along the shore

spellbound I marvel and gaze lounging on the green
 
the sun winks goodbye 
wave by wave sweeps you downward
seducing me in cryptic whispers as darkness falls 
leaving me wanting more 
the magic is real

I shall return 
to feel your touch 

©Alexandra Kukunda, February 2020

Leave a comment